The Grand Rapids Sports Hall of Fame honors athletes, owners, and coaches from West Michigan who have achieved prominence in their sports on a local, state, or national level.

Originally founded by the Grand Rapids City Commission in 1972, the Sports Hall of Fame was reestablished in 1995 and is now housed on the upper deck of the Van Andel Arena.
Each year, a new group of inductees is selected by the Board of Trustees and honored at the Grand Rapids Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. To date, there have been 138 inductees to the Hall of Fame, including former United States President, Gerald R. Ford, and former Grand Rapids Mayor, Paul Goebel, Sr.


In addition to honoring sports heroes, the Grand Rapids Sports Hall of Fame sponsors annual events in support of West Michigan athletics and supports local charities.

Lighthouse Group

Economic Symposium

2016 figures to be an instrumental year for the United States economy. Global unrest, health care, elections....much awaits the business leaders of West Michigan as we traverse the bumpy terrain.

Cornerstone University invites you to join Grand Rapids business leaders and five of West Michigan's top economic minds as they review the 2015 economy and forecast 2016 for our nation and state.

This year's Symposium will take place on Wednesday, November 18th at the Gainey Conference Center at Cornerstone University. Check-in begins at 7:00 am, with the ceremony following at 7:00. To register or for more information, click the button below.

Register Now

Hall of Fame Classic

Hall of Fame Classic

The Hall of Fame Classic is a Division III men's basketball tournament held over Thanksgiving weekend. The twentieth annual Hall of Fame Classic is to be hosted by Cornerstone University at the Hansen Athletic Center on Friday, November 27th and Saturday, November 28th. Tickets are $10 at the door each night and are good for both games.

Friday Nov 27
6pm Hope v Aquinas
8pm Calvin v Cornerstone

Saturday Nov 28
6pm Calvin v Aquinas
8pm Hope v Cornerstone


2014 Inductees
Grand Rapids Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2014

Copyright � 2007 Grand Rapids Sports Hall of Fame, LTD

Site developed by Rivertown Media  |  LEGAL DOCUMENTS